board_home 

Visit the
UK MOT Testing
Industry Website



 Moderated by: Stealth, MOTman, KevG, bimmer  
AuthorPost
Wesley
Trade Member
 

Joined: Tue Sep 25th, 2007
Location: Wanted
Posts: 1841
Status: 
Offline
Mana: 
new disc arrived today, with an apology! carried out the "automatic update procedure"?? which requires you to remove a usb connection?:?

follow the instructions on the rear of the letter and It Works.;)

gluther
Trade Member
 

Joined: Thu Mar 27th, 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 27
Status: 
Offline
Mana: 
I did initially use the restore point and try again but still no good.

We await the replacement disc with hope!!

Just got to remember to select the 'wrong' year! I wonder who signed the program off ready to release?!

Wesley
Trade Member
 

Joined: Tue Sep 25th, 2007
Location: Wanted
Posts: 1841
Status: 
Offline
Mana: 
gluther wrote: Slightly off the topic, our disc arrived yesterday, we are not on the peace of mind package!

We were charged £199 +VAT(20% discount as we were selected as a special customer!!)

Loaded the disc as per the instructions, entered the validation code or what ever they call it, didn't work! Called the helpline in the end, "oh yes had some problems with the codes" gave me another code down the phone and all was well........

Until later on in the day, 1st diesel test with the update. 1st test after 6 runs, when it should of passed after 3, machine voided result, excess drift! OK had this now and again, so did another test. 6 more runs (3 should of done) machine failed vehicle, was showing a limit of only 1.5. New low limit for vehicles after July 2008 is the main part of the update, so thought fair enough may of selected wrong date as new program is slightly different with extra selection screens. So did a 3rd test making sure I selected the correct date, same result again, failed, limit too low!!

Called the helpline, was told they have just found out about this! The software is wrong, you have to select the opposite date range to the one that you require, as the options are swapped around! They will be sending out a replacement disc soon!!

So all in all must of wasted a couple of hours over this £200 update!!

Rant over!!


I experienced similar,

so opted to restore, awaiting a second disc in case the original was intended for our other gas analyser?

thanks for the info.

gluther
Trade Member
 

Joined: Thu Mar 27th, 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 27
Status: 
Offline
Mana: 
Slightly off the topic, our disc arrived yesterday, we are not on the peace of mind package!

We were charged £199 +VAT(20% discount as we were selected as a special customer!!)

Loaded the disc as per the instructions, entered the validation code or what ever they call it, didn't work! Called the helpline in the end, "oh yes had some problems with the codes" gave me another code down the phone and all was well........

Until later on in the day, 1st diesel test with the update. 1st test after 6 runs, when it should of passed after 3, machine voided result, excess drift! OK had this now and again, so did another test. 6 more runs (3 should of done) machine failed vehicle, was showing a limit of only 1.5. New low limit for vehicles after July 2008 is the main part of the update, so thought fair enough may of selected wrong date as new program is slightly different with extra selection screens. So did a 3rd test making sure I selected the correct date, same result again, failed, limit too low!!

Called the helpline, was told they have just found out about this! The software is wrong, you have to select the opposite date range to the one that you require, as the options are swapped around! They will be sending out a replacement disc soon!!

So all in all must of wasted a couple of hours over this £200 update!!

Rant over!!

auto14group
Member
 

Joined: Mon Jul 5th, 2010
Location:  
Posts: 1
Status: 
Offline
Mana: 
have 6 yr package sun are trying to charge £200 for upgrade disc saying it is not included only petrol upgrades are looked at term and conditions and this is not stated it says peace of mind package software upgrades but sun are trying to back pedal waitng for response from sun will let you know



UltraBB 1.172 Copyright © 2007-2011 Data 1 Systems